Borough History

Beautification Committee

The Borough of Freemansburg

The Borough of Freemansburg was incorporated in January, 1856 and is approximately one square mile in size. Named after Jacob Freeman, whose grandfather settled this area in the 1700's, the Borough has grown to a population of over 2000 residents. Nestled in the heart of the Lehigh Valley along the banks of the Lehigh River, a portion of the Borough is located within the historic Delaware & Lehigh National Heritage Canal Corridor. Lock #44 of the D&L Canal is situated within the Borough limits along with the original Lock Keeper's House and the restored Mule Barn. Remains of the Geissinger Grist Mill are also located between the Lock and the River. The Borough maintains its portion of the Towpath, which is an educational and scenic journey for residents and visitors alike.

Delaware & Lehigh National Heritage Corridor
Visit the Delaware & Lehigh National Heritage Corridor to find things to do in Eastern Pennsylvania.

The Lock Keeper's House The Tow Path of the D&L Canal 
The Lock Keeper's House


The Tow Path of the D&L Canal


The Geissinger Grist Mill Lock #44 of the D&L Canal 
The Geissinger Grist Mill


Lock #44 of the D&L Canal


Home ] Beautification Committee ]

Send mail to with questions or comments about this web site.
Copyright 2006-2008 Borough of Freemansburg
Last modified: 04/19/11